Lent and Coming Home

LENT AND COMING HOME

star holy week animatedIn the season of Lent, we remember the passion, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  But before Easter comes, the passion of Jesus Christ is a dramatic re-enactment especially for Filipinos.  We can see this in different places when some people scourge themselves or even crucify themselves literally.  They believe that by doing so, they may be able to make up for their sins.

What does Lent really mean then?  Abstinence, fasting, repentance, confession, reconciliation, generosity, alms-giving, doing good for others, and anything that might make God feel good about us – His sinful children.

I remember when an older friend asked me when I was in high school.  “Do you really believe in God?  I know you go for mass almost every day and devoted to Mother Mary.  But do you sincerely believe in God?” I wondered why she asked me the question.  Of course, I answered YES, I believe in God.  I asked her the same question.  I don’t know if it was a joke but this was how she answered:  “At one time, I doubted if there is a God.  But what if there is really a God?  If I do not believe in Him then I have no relationship with Him so I cannot go back to Him.  I just want to make sure I have someone to go home to when I die.”Way home to God

Perhaps my friend wanted to be assured of her future in the other life.  That she has a Home in the afterlife.  But heaven begins in our world.  Our relationship with God begins even before our birth, in this world and until after life.  God is our Father who created us, looks after us, providing us with our needs to live a happy and peaceful life if we follow His commandments.  He is the father and mother who welcome us home even if we continually defy His orders.  He continues to save us even when we chose to destroy ourselves.  When will we ever learn?

Lent is the time to remember how God saved us through His Son, Jesus.  How Jesus suffered and died for us.  And at the end of His suffering, He invites us to resurrect with Him to New Life!  Are we ready for that?  Are we ready for Easter, our own Easter?  It does not have to be the afterlife.  It is this life.  A life renewed in God’s Love.  So each door we go in to is Home – whether it is the house we live in, or our friend’s house, or the work place of our livelihood or the church door where we worship as a community.  In all these places and more, God is there – welcoming us and staying with us as He promised us – “I will be with you till the end of time!”

God-love-1john410Lent is a celebration of Love – God’s unconditional love for all of us.  And all He asks of us – that we love one another as He loved us!   Can we pray the OUR FATHER with meaning and sincerity?

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name; thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen.

HAPPY EASTER EVERYONE!

–          Star del Mar

Easter 2

Easter happy -1

Leave a Reply

